About me

about me.png I'm a finance graduate -> turned marketer -> turned full stack dev who loves to bring ideas to life through code.

I have been passionate about new technology since the first computer that graced our home when I was 12.

Subsequent machines never enjoyed any rest. Dual booting? triple booting? Hackintoshing? I wanted to have the best of all worlds and I wanted to know everything there was to know, I wanted to try every piece of software I could lay my hands upon. (Photoshop CS on a Pentium 3 with 128mb of RAM was not my brightest idea btw)

During my college years, I had a friend of mine who was studying computer science at the time, and whenever he would get an idea, he'd start coding it the next day and give life to it. To me, that was godlike and honestly amazing and inspiring on some many levels. I wanted to be like him, I wanted to code my own ideas, bring them to life with my vision and my own fingers.

It was until a few years after I graduated in 2014, that I had my first web-dev experience working on a platform for online restaurant booking built with WordPress. Through working alongside devs, I learned a lot, wrote some of my first PHP lines and mostly learned to troubleshoot and make sense of the lines of code I was reading.

By 2017, I started working for a digital marketing agency and one of the first things I did was to insource our web-dev projects, mainly WordPress. (previous experience came in handy). Back then as I was learning the ropes of digital marketing, I wanted to download some of the courses I was taking on Lynda.com, so I looked for a course downloader on Github and despite following all the steps to set it up, it failed to work as intended. Making sense of the error messages and debugging the issues ultimately led to my first first ever contribution on GitHub. (Thank you Ankit 🙏).

At work, I enjoyed automating things, so I fully automated an Excel report that used to take me 3 days to make. Writing my first few sub statements on Visual Basic and cutting down thus the time to merely 30 seconds instead of 3 days.

Unfortunately, that is as far as it went. And as my responsibilities grew, I had less time to learn and I let programming fall by the wayside.

But then, a few things happened:

  1. Summer 2020, I received an invitation to apply to become a Canadian permanent resident. The promise of a new life, new entourage, new beginnings, why not pursue a new career as well? the one I've always wanted.
  2. Covid hit and suddenly working remotely was a thing now thus freeing up much of that commute time. So, I started learning again.

A few months later, I had myself a new schedule, marketer during the day, self-taught developer at night, coding everyday late into the night not because I had to, but because I was driven, I had found my purpose.

Languages and frameworks were my Pokemon and I had to catch them all. (I mean... you get my drift, right? 😆)

I'm now seeking a full-time role where I can contribute my skills both in coding and business to help a company achieve their goals.

🧐 Some Things About Me:

  • 🌐 I lurk on Twitter & Hashnode.

  • ⚡ Fun fact: Sushi is my everything. By far, easiest way to bribe me into doing anything 🤤

  • 🔭 I released Twiginity not long ago.

  • 👨‍💻 All of my projects are available here.

  • 🌱 Learning Next.js at the moment.

  • 📚 My current stack: MERN (Mongo, Express, React, Node)